Louisa Tandy, secretary of EGG gives an overview of the highlights of the two day challenge

With over 100 dogs competing over the two days, it is safe to say that the English Groomers Challenge is as popular as ever.  The White Oak Leisure centre in Swanley , Kent is the home of the Challenge and Saturday saw the Champions Class, the Juniors class and the introduction of  three Creative classes take place. 

Champions-after01The Champions Class was won by Denise Westbrook who was awarded with a total of £1000 generously donated by Simpsons, this class allows previous Challenge winners as well as other groomers who are normally excluded from entering the Challenge to compete. We were very grateful to Peter Ensell and Colin Taylor for judging this class along with the Juniors.

Sian Beddoe from Aspera won the Juniors section, sponsored by Dee4Dogs and the Creative stylist of the Year was awarded to Tanya Stevens for her wonderful flowerbox design which was expertly judged by Su Eld Weaver. The Creative Class was split into two levels, Novice and Open this allowed competitors who had not been previously placed in a creative class to compete against others of the same level.

We also introduced the Abstract Runway Class where the style is more patterns with little or no colour. The dogs are groomed prior to the day and the finished dog is judged on the day. This is ideal for those who like to groom creatively without the extreme colour that is normally seen in the creative classes.

We also introduced a series of micro seminars, these lasted about 20-30 minutes long and concentrated on specific areas of grooming including the Westie head, how to trim the perfect cocker foot, how to bandage a paw, angulation, Schnauzer head as well as the QA standards amongst many others.

Sunday saw the Challenge take place, sponsored by Groomers, Redcape and The Pet Spa Training Academy.  Our judges, Peter Ensell, Eve Somers, Sara Hussein and Dione Spice had the difficult task of choosing a winner.  The standard was exceptionally high this year across all three levels.  However our judges awarded the English Groomers Challenge to Amanda Marshall with her Handstrip Fox Terrier. Congratulations Amanda!Best-in-show-02

We would like to thank all our sponsors for their generosity.  The Challenge could not take place without these companies

Next year will be the 10th anniversary of The English Groomers Challenge.  Plans are already well under way to make this our best yet so keep the 14th June 2015 free in your diary


Champions Class 2014 Sponsored by Simpsons of Langley

Judges Colin Taylor and Peter Ensell

First Denise Westbrook Poodle
Second Heidi Anderton poodle
Third Julie Lalou Simpson cross breed

Juniors class      Judges Colin Taylor and Peter Ensell sponsored by Dee 4 Dogs

Sian Beddoe Min schnauzer

Creative Stylist of the year:  Novice sponsored by The Brighton Pet Spa & Louisa’s Grooming Salon

Judge Su Eld-Weaver

First Vikki Pearman Wild West
Second Daniela Forshaw Venice
Third Denise Clare Masquerade

Creative Stylist of the year:  Experienced sponsored by The Brighton Pet Spa & Louisa’s Grooming Salon

Judge Su Eld-Weaver

First Tanya Stevens Window Box
Second Wayne Robey Wizard of Oz
Third Lorraine Brackley Music and Romance

Abstract Runway sponsored by The Brighton Pet Spa & Louisa’s Grooming Salon

Judge Su Eld-Weaver

First Ellie-Jo Lodge bulldog cross
Second Wayne Roby poodle
Third Tanya Stevens poodle




Newcomer sponsored by The Pet Spa Training Academy 1st 2nd 3rd
Scissor Molly Norman poodle Ria Winstanley bichon Christina West poodle
Real Life Tim Dodson bichon x Sammy Russell cross breed Patricia Tilley shih tzu
Clip Katie Kimberley Wire fox Amy Higgs Min Schn Christina West Cocker
Hand strip Fiona Durdy border terrier Daisy Tomlie springer
Experienced sponsored by Redcape
Scissor Brenda Furlong poodle Angela Flowers poodle Dana Grant poodle
Real Life Wayne Roby poodle x Emma George poodle x Coral Taylor Labradoodle
Clip Amanda MacRaild scottie Denise McGlennon wire fox Wayne Roby Airedale
Hand Strip Amanda Marshall Wire Fox Angela Flowers Welsh Terrier Karen Hobson Irish Terrier
Advanced sponsored by Groomers
Scissor Jessica Walker Soft Coated Wheaton Tiffany Jennings Poodle Joanne Beddoe poodle
Real Life Lorraine Brackley cross breed Steven Gorman cross breed Rachel Hart shih tzu
Clip Joanne Beddoe airedale Debbie Aylmer cocker Rachel Hart min schnauzer
Hand strip Klaudia Szonyi scottie Lesley Harpham norfolk Andrew Carr cocker

Judge : Dione Spice

Best Preparation sponsored by Look North Tim Dodson Bichon x
Biggest Transformation sponsored by Aspera Tiffany Jennings poodle
Best Handling sponsored by Groom Team England Sian Beddoe min schnauzer
Best Technique sponsored by The Brighton Pet spa Gemma Guile cross breed
Best Finish sponsored by Groom Dog City Steven Gorman cross breed
Great Expectation sponsored by Dogs DelightSpecial Award sponsored by EGG Molly Norman poodleAdrian Long Bouvier


BEST NEWCOMER sponsored by The Pet Spa Training Academy Molly Norman Poodle
BEST EXPERIENCED sponsored by Redcape Amanda Marshall Wire Fox
BEST ADVANCED sponsored by Groomers Klaudia Szonyi  Scottie
BEST IN SHOW 2014 sponsored by Groomers Amanda Marshall Wire fox